Class Comedians Home
Whats the Story?
Serious Stuff

What's the Story

Class Comedians provides an extra-curricular learning opportunity for senior secondary school students in the comedy genre. In a nutshell - we teach funny kids how to do it proper!

It's an initiative of the NZ Comedy Trust, and has been running since it's conception in 2001. This 3-month programme combines the experience and know-how of professional comedians and industry experts to deliver a well-rounded introduction to the comedy industry. The highlight of the programme is a showcase performance as part of the New Zealand International Comedy Festival.


Who's involved?

Class Comedians is a real community affair: NZ Comedy Trust runs the programme with support from local funders. Professional comedians host the in-school concerts, facilitate the workshops and act as mentors/tutors throughout the programme. 

The NZ Comedy Trust was established in 1995 to support and assist in the development of New Zealand's live Comedy Industry. The Trust's major initiative outside of Class Comedians is the New Zealand International Comedy Festival.

Contributors to Class Comedians include, but are certainly not limited to Dai Henwood, Ben Hurley, Steve Wrigley, Te Radar, Rhys Mathewson and Michele A'Court. They all offer a unique insight to the comedy industry, and inspire 'funny' kids to consider the full gamut of career opportunities available.


Notable graduates of this programme so far include:

Rhys Mathewson, written into NZ history in 2010, as the youngest ever recipient of the coveted Billy T Award at 19 years of age. Since then Rhys has appeared on C4's The Jono Project, TV3's WannaBEN, 7 Days, Would I Lie to You and AotearoHA. Rhys was nominated for Best Male Comedian at the 2010 NZ Comedy Guild Awards. He's now come full circle to be the Head Tutor for Class Comedians 2012, ready to pass on his knowledge and experience to future comedy stars.

Rose Matafeo, U Live host and 2012 Billy T Nominee

©NZ Comedy Trust 2012. | powered by webconception | Designed by MODSQUAD | Terms & Condition